Latest News‎ > ‎

All square in Minor Championship (11/08/14)

posted 15 Aug 2014, 02:06 by ballymacnab armagh


St.Brigid’s 2-14 Ballymacnab 0-20

Level at normal time and again after extra time means this thrilling encounter with St.Brigids in the Championship shall be decided by a replay, fixed for Monday (18th) in Ballymacnab @ 7pm.

Amalgamated side St.Brigid's raced into an early lead on the scoreboard, hitting 1-4 to Oisin McGiverns brace of points after 15 minutes. Ballymacnab regrouped and responded through consecutive points from Ryan Watters (2), Stephen King, Oisin McGivern and Shaun Casey to level matters. St.Brigid's then retook the lead with a point but points from Caoimhín Rafferty and Ryan Watters left the 'Nab going into the break 0-9 to 1-5 ahead.

St.Brigid's dominated the early moments of the second half hitting 1-3 without reply. However, points from Ryan Watters, Oisin McGivern and Brendan Kennedy kept Ballymacnab in touch. Nearing the final whistle Ballymacnab trailed by 2 but showed great resolve to force extra time through points from Oisin McGivern and Finnén Maguire (FT Ballymacnab 0-16 St.Brigids 2-10).

Two periods of extra time beckoned and things were still all square after the first period with Oisin McGivern once again showing great accuracy with two points against two for the home side. In a titanic second period, St.Brigid's hit the front once more but excellent scores by Shaun Casey and Ryan Watters looked to have turned the tie in their favour. However, one final twist in the game saw St.Brigid's level with the final kick of the game.

After an exciting 80 minutes things finished all square. Great credit to both sets of player who played out a thrilling and entertaining game throughout. 'Keeper Shane McClelland came to his sides rescue on a number of times and was sharp off his line when called upon. Shaun Casey and Josh McGeown had steady games in defence as did the economic Stephen King. Chief marksman Oisin McGivern was in sparking form, closely aided by Ryan Watters while Ryan McKenna put in a great effort throughout. Make sure not to miss the replay!  

Team: Shane McClelland, Niall McKee, Shaun Casey (Capt 0-2), Josh McGeown, Brendan Kennedy (0-1), Stephen King (0-1), Finnén Maguire (0-1), Caoimhín Rafferty (0-1), Oisin McGivern (0-9), Ryan Watters (0-5), Ryan McKenna, Michael Gribben, Eoin Smyth. Subs: Lorcan McGivern for E.Smyth