Latest News‎ > ‎

Minors defeated in first league encounter (08/04/19)

posted 12 Apr 2019, 05:05 by ballymacnab armagh

Brian Boru 0-12 Dromintee 1-10

Our minor side faced Dromintee on Monday evening to kick start the beginning of their 2019 league campaign. Their opponents, Dromintee, got off to a brighter start scoring two points in as many minutes. The home side replied through wing half back Shane O’Hanlon, who’s constant attacking flair caused Dromintee problems all night.

Dromintee got their 3rd while Sean Savage provided the assist for an Emmet O’Malley score. Two converted frees from the trusty boot of Pearse Woods tied the game before Woods then turned provider as he set up Aidan Daivdson who fired his side in front. Dromintee answered again with a point two minutes later.

Sean McVerry gave his side a two point advantage, with Shea O’Toole’s hard work a telling contribution to the score. Davidsons 2nd saw Brian Boru’s lead doubled before Dromintee narrowed the gap to 1. The travelling side had a chance to go ahead with the final kick of the half, a penalty, which was expertly saved by goalkeeper Cillian Fearon. This saw Brian Boru ahead at the interval by the minimum, 0-7 to 0-6.

Fearon’s heroics could not be depended upon again as Dromintee began the second period in blistering fashion, smashing the ball past the helpless net minder for the first score of the half. An Emmet O’Malley point split two more Dromintee scores as the goal was now the difference between the sides.

Brian Boru’s soon led with four quick fire points with the roaming Shane O’Hanlon, Woods, O’Malley and Simon King all hitting the target with just 4 minutes remaining. This wasn’t enough to claim the 2 points on offer however as Dromintee finished with 2 last minute scores to win the game 1-10 to 0-12.

A promising display for the minors in their first outing of the season, with Captain for the evening Paddy Hughes and Shane O’Hanlon the main performers in the defence while the midfield duo of Sean McVerry and Aidan Davidson shared 3 points between them. Pearse Woods’ accuracy from frees and Shea O’Toole’s off the ball work was key in the forward division.

Team: Cillian Fearon, Rory Foster, Ryan Donnelly, Nathan Vallely, Sean Savage, Paddy Hughes, Shane O’Hanlon (0-2), Sean McVerry (0-1), Aidan Davidson (0-2), Shea O’Toole, Pearse Woods (0-3), Rokas Gostautas, Simon King, Emmet O’Malley (0-2), Pearse Hughes.                                      
Subs: Ben Cunningham for N. Vallely