Latest News‎ > ‎

Share of the points in Dromintee (21/09/12)

posted 25 Sept 2012, 05:36 by Unknown user   [ updated 25 Sept 2012, 05:39 ]

Dromintee 1-13 Ballymacnab 1-13


Our seniors travelled to Dromintee on Friday evening for a league game. Played under lights it was a game that both teams could have won or lost and at the end of the 60th minutes the sides had to be content with a share of the spoils. A minutes silence was observed before the game in memory of our former player, Joe Dunleavy.


The Round Towers started the game well with a Rory Grugan pointed free with less than a minute on the clock. Ballymacnab dominated the early exchanges but were guilty of missing numerous scoring chances before Rory Grugan collected another two points by the 14th minute. Three minutes later came the first goal when Pauric Gribben cut through from the side line and pass to the on running Jack Grugan who palmed the ball to the net. Points from Rory Grugan and Gavin McParland increased their lead to eight before the home side got off the mark with a point on the 21st minute. Pauric Gribben once more played provider in setting up Damian McGeown for a point on the 23rd minute. Dromintee finished the half off with two points to leave the Round Towers leading 1-06 to 3 at the break.


Dromintee added two points in quick succession at the beginning of the second half before Tony McKee and Gavin McParland linked well in setting up Pauric Gribben for his first score. A point for Dromintee on the 36th minute was quickly followed with a goal to leave just the minimum between the sides.  Gavin McParland hit back with a point before three unanswered points for Dromintee gave them the lead for the first time on the 42nd minute. However, this was short lived with Joe Gribben (2), Gavin McParland and Paudi Crilly responded with points. Dromintee hit back with further points to play out a draw.


Team: Sean Hughes, Chris Kennedy, Paudi Crilly (0-1), Dominic McParland, James Gray, Ryan Kennedy, Kevin Beagan, Tony McKee, Damian McGeown (0-1), Joe Gribben (0-2), Rory Grugan (0-4), Michael Beagan, Gavin McParland (0-4), Pauric Gribben (Capt 0-1), Jack Grugan (1-0). Sub: Sean Lynch for K.Beagan