Latest News‎ > ‎

Under 14s reach county Final (28/06/12)

posted 28 Jun 2012, 06:01 by Unknown user   [ updated 29 Jun 2012, 00:36 ]




Our Under 14s qualified to the Final of the Championship after a fantastic performance saw them account for Middletown at the Semi Final stage. The game was originally to be staged in Pearse Og but after the torrential rain their pitch was deemed unplayable so both side decided to toss for the venue which Middletown won. Despite forgoing home advantage Ballymacnab were confident going into the game after strong performances against Clady and Grange in the previous rounds.


When the game began Caoimhin Rafferty opened the scoring with a well taken point before a Ryan Watters goal put our lads four points up. Middletown replied with a goal of their own before a Ryan Watters pointed free left two between the sides. Just before half time Middletown scored another point to leave Ballymacnab one up at the break.


A fantastic save from goalkeeper Sean Owen Curry denied Middletown a goal early on in the second half but Conor Lynch made no mistake when he finished of a well worked move with a goal to put them in control. Middletown replied with two pointed frees left two as the margin before Conor Lynch put two between the sides once more. Middletown tagged on another point before a brilliant tackle from Conor Dougan stopped Middletown from getting their second goal of the game. Middletown added another point before a Caoimhín Rafferty point put two between the teams. With Middletown now in search of a goal to win the game, Ballymacnab needed someone to step up and make sure of their victory. That someone was Caoimhin Rafferty who kicked over an absolutely fantastic free kick from near the sideline and secured the win.


A brilliant display by all involved including the management team of Colin McKee, Liam King and Seamus McArdle. Kyle Gallagher put in a man of the match performance with also brilliant displays from Conor Dougan, Caoimhín and Conor Lynch. Ballymacnab will now play Naomh Eoin in Final scheduled for August.


Sean Owen Curry, Conor Dougan, Tiarnán Smyth, Dara McArdle, Kyle Gallagher, Caoimhín Rafferty, Niall McKee, Ryan Watters, Conor O'Hanlon, Conor Lynch, Pearse Hughes, Oisin Dougan, Lorcan McGivern, Eoin Crilly, Michael Gribbon, Conor Gribben..