Latest News‎ > ‎

Under 14s are crowned County Champions (25/08/12)

posted 27 Aug 2012, 06:53 by Unknown user   [ updated 27 Aug 2012, 18:15 ]


Ballymacnab 2-07 Naomh Eoin 0-08


Our Under 14s made history on Saturday when they won the Championship, the first for the club at this level. No one could deny the lads the victory as they played the best football on the day and were deserving winners at the Morgan Athletic Grounds.

Amalgamated side Naomh Eoin were quick off the mark with a point from their first attack but a converted Niall McKee 45 metre kick cancelled that score. Naomh Eoin hit back with another point before Ryan Watters chipped in with a brace of points to give his side the lead for the first time. The 'Nab were now gathering momentum and when Conor Lynch cut through the defence only the 'keeper denied a certain goal. Conor O’Hanlon gathered the rebound and kicked a point. Naomh Eoin added two points in between one from Conor Lynch to leave the Round Towers five points to four ahead at the interval.

Ballymacnab started the second half in determine fashion and a quick free from Ryan Watters to Conor Lynch saw him fire the ball to the net for the first goal of the game. The 'Nab began to dominate and long range points from Dara McArdle and Niall McKee increased the lead. Any idea that the 'Nab had the game won were short lived when Naomh Eoin responded with two points and only and excellent save from 'keeper Sean Owen Curry denied a certain goal at the expense of a 45 meter kick. From the resulting Sean Owen once again showed his worth, punching the ball over the bar to leave just a goal between the sides. With time almost up and with victory in their sight the Round Towers went on the attack once more and when the ball fell to Ryan Watters he made no mistake in stroking the ball to the net. Naomh Eoin came back with a point but the final whistle soon blew to the delight of the players and supporters.

Minor Board Secretary Fiona McNally presented the cup to Ryan Watters and he spoke admirably about his team-mates and coaches. Well done to all the lads and their management team of Colin McKee, Liam King and Seamus McArdle for their dedication and commitment not only on Saturday but throughout the year.

Team: Sean Owen Curry, Conor Dougan, Tiarnán Smyth, Dara McArdle (0-1), Kyle Gallagher, Niall McKee (0-2), Caoimhin Rafferty, Ryan Watters (Capt 1-2), Conor Hanlon (0-1), Conor Lynch (1-1), Lorcan McGivern. Subs: Pearse Hughes, Conor Gribben, Eoin Crilly, Oisin Dougan, Lee McParland, Michael Gribbon, Shane O'Hanlon.