Latest News‎ > ‎

Under 16s through to Shield Semi-Final (10/07/12)

posted 11 Jul 2012, 07:30 by Unknown user


Ballymacnab 3-11 St.Brigids 3-06


Our Under 16s had home advantage against St. Brigid's in their first round game in the Shield Championship. Torrential rain threatened to disrupt what proved to be an entertaining encounter and both sides deserve credit for their efforts. St. Brigid's were first to split the posts with an early score before Shaun Casey levelled the game with a point. Michael O'Hare then put his side two in front before St. Brigid's tagged on a brace of points to lead by the minimum. Shaun Casey levelled from the dead ball before Finnén Maguire and Dara McKinney got on the score sheet with points. The first goal of the game came mid way through the half when brilliant vision from Michael Gribben set up the on running Oisín McGivern who coolly placed the ball in the bottom corner of the net. This was followed by a well taken point from Brendan Kennedy. Shaun Casey added another free followed by a Michael O'Hare point to end the half with the score at was 1-8 to 3 points in favour of the Round Towers. On the restart, Eoin Smith got his first of the evening with a point from a very difficult angle and a Finnén Maguire goal stretched the Nab's lead to 11. Any idea that the ‘Nab were going to run away with the game were short lived when a goal for St. Brigid's reduced the deficit. A second Brendan Kennedy point followed by another Shaun Casey pointed free put Ballymacnab 10 up. However, St. Brigid's got right back into the game hitting 2-2 without reply to leave only two points between the sides. A shell shocked Ballymacnab got themselves back on course when a free from Shaun Casey caught the ‘keeper unaware and ended up in the back of the net and this score was enough to guide the lads to victory and into the Semi-Final. A good performance from the lads led by Brendan Kennedy in securing the victory while also notably performances from Stephen McGuigan and Ryan McKenna in defence and Shaun Casey and Oisín McGivern in attack.   


Team: Oisín O'Hare, Brendan Kennedy, Michael Gribben, Lee Hughes, Stephen McGuigan, Ryan McKenna, Finnén Maguire, Josh McGeown, Shaun Casey, Michael O'Hare, Dara McKinney, Eoin Smith, Oisín McGivern.