Latest News‎ > ‎

Under 18s narrowly defeated in League Play Off (16/09/12)

posted 16 Sept 2012, 16:14 by Unknown user


Ballymacnab 3-09 Madden 1-19 


After both sides finished the season off with 12 league points each a ‘Play Off’ was required to determine this years league winners. A toss of venue was decided and Madden took first advantage.


Madden made a promising start with three unanswered points as their pace in attack left it difficult for the ‘Nab to contain. Jack Grugan got his side off the mark on the 7th minute with a pointed free. Madden continued their dominance in the first quarter hitting to 1-5 without reply to lead by ten points by the 21st minute but Ballymacnab finished the half strongly with points from Aodhan Toner, Jack Grugan (2) and a quality goal from Kieran Hughes to leave just four between the sides at the interval.


Madden started the second half in a similar fashion as they had the first, scoring four points without reply. A Jack Grugan pointed free on the 42nd minute reduced the deficit to seven before another classy goal from Kieran Hughes gave his side a much needed lift. Shane McCone had to temporally leave the field due to a blood injury but his replacement, Stephen King, made an immediate impact when his shot looped over the ‘keepers head for another goal and a point from Conor Mackin on the 49th minute amazedly left the sides level. Madden took command once more with three unanswered points before another Conor Mackin point left two in it. Scores exchanged between the oppositions and Aodhan Toner and Conor Mackin left a nail biting finish but Madden held on to record the victory and we congratulate them on it. Although disappointed in the result the lads can take great credit in their tremendous effort and never say die attitude.


Team: Conor McGivern, Ciaran Connolly, John McManus, Fearghal Nugent, Shane McCone, Barry Livingstone, Aodhan Toner (0-2), Finnén Maguire, Conor Murdoch, Kieran Hughes (2-0), Conor Mackin (0-03), Jack Grugan (Capt 0-4), Joe Kennedy. Subs: Oisin Fearon for C.Connolly, Conor Leonard for C.Murdoch, Stephen King (1-0) for J.Kennedy