Match Reports‎ > ‎

All square on Opening day (12/04/15)

posted 12 Apr 2015, 14:49 by ballymacnab armagh



Sunday saw the commencement of the Senior League with our lads travelling to near rivals Pearse Og. Little could separate the sides throughout,  level at half time 6 points each and at full time 1-9 to 0-12, Rory Grugan scoring the goal from a converted penalty.

The home side opened the scoring with a point from their first attack. In the early exchanges a well struck shot from Jack Grugan was equally saved by the 'keeper before Ballymacnab got off the mark on the 6th minute when Rory Grugan scooped over a point. Pearse Og restored the lead with a long range effort before Ballymacnab Captain Michael Beagan levelled matters with a point on the overlap. Points from Kieran Hughes, Brendan Toner, Brian McCone and Rory Grugan were exchanged with as many from the opposition to leave matters all square at half time. 

In the second half, a Rory Grugan point on the 35th minute edged Ballymacnab out in front before Pearse Og hit two unanswered points. Brian McCone's converted free levelled the game once more but the home side hit the front again with a point on the 43rd minute. On the 46th came the only goal of the game when Brian McCone was fouled and awarded a penalty. Rory Grugan stroked the ball accurately to the net. The home side responded with two points to level once more. A 54th minute point from Brian McCone looked to have helped his side cross the line but an equalising score a minute into injury time brought the sides level once more and concluded the scoring matters.

Overall it was a good team performance with Sean Lynch and Michael Beagan excellent in defence. Joe Gribben worked tirelessly over the hour while Rory Grugan and Kieran Hughes most dangerous in attack. 

Team: Conor McGivern, Chris Loughran, Sean McArdle, Sean Lynch, Michael Beagan  (Capt 0-1), Ruairi Gribben, Fearghal Nugent, Brendan Gribben, Damien McGeown, Brendan Toner  (0-1), Rory Grugan  (1-2), James Gray, Jack Grugan, Joe Gribben, Brian McCone  (0-3). Subs: Kieran Hughes (0-1) for J.Grugan, Dominic McParland for S.McArdle, Gary McKee for B.Toner