Match Reports‎ > ‎

Crossmaglen defeat Seniors in Title decider (16/10/11)

posted 19 Oct 2011, 05:18 by Unknown user   [ updated 20 Oct 2011, 05:25 ]




Ballymacnab ‘run’ in this years Championship came to an abrupt end in the Final on Sunday at the Morgan Athletic Grounds. Despite our lad’s best efforts, on the day they came up against a rampant Crossmaglen side that were on top of their game.


Ballymacnab took the field in a confident mood and were greeted with a gallant cheer from the faithful, many who had traveled a long distance to attend. Playing against the wind Crossmaglen meant business and by the 9th minute had opened up a four nil lead. Only for the heroics of keeper and captain, Sean Hughes pulling off two fabulous saves Cross could have been further a head. Ballymacnab just couldn’t seem to settle or to get a hold of the ball and the 20th minute a further disaster occurred when they conceded a penalty. Once again Sean Hughes showed great reflexes and palmed the ball to safety and would make another number of top draw saves before the half was out. A pointed free from Rory Grugan on the 23rd minute opened the Nab’s account but Cross finished with a flurry and at the interval lead 0-12 to 0-01.


The Nab now needed to throw off the shackles and a Rory Grugan free on the 32nd minute doubled their tally. However, Cross were in no mood to sit back on the laurels and further points were followed by goals on the 40th and 45th minute. Chris Loughran sprung up from defence to kick the Round Towers final score. As the final whistle blew on what was a historic day in the clubs history, Crossmaglen were once again crowned County champions and we wish them the best of good luck in the Ulster Championship. No one can deny that the lads tried their best but once again Cross showed their superiority and experience and continue their dominance of Armagh football. Sean Hughes put in a great display in goals making countless stops. Dominic McParland and Paudi Crilly tried hard in defence while in attack Brian McCone battled hard whilst living off limited supply. Although disappointed and dejected and once the dust settles our lads can take some satisfaction that they have maintained their Division I status and reached the clubs first Senior County Final, something that can never be achieved again. They have giving our supporters great joy throughout the year and there’s no doubt will do so again in the future.


Team: Sean Hughes (Capt), Chris Loughran (0-1), Dwayne McParland, Dominic McParland, Barry O’Hare, Paudi Crilly, Kevin Beagan, Pauric Gribben, Richard Gribben, Joe Gribben, Brain McCone, James Gray, Rory Grugan (0-2), Gavin McParland, Ryan Kennedy. Subs: Gary McKee for R.Gribben, Michael Beagan for J.Gray, Chris Kennedy for Dwayne McParland