Match Reports‎ > ‎

Draw, in Under 16 C'ship thriller (23/03/13)

posted 26 May 2013, 15:44 by Unknown user


An Port Mor 6-11 Ballymacnab 6-11

Our Under 16 side opened their Championship campaign with an away fixture against Port Mor on Thursday evening. The game proved to full of excitement, drama and great scoring ability. An early Dara McArdle goal put Ballymacnab into the lead before the home side answered with 1-2 in quick succession. The ‘Nab were soon level through points from Brian Murdoch and Ryan Watters. An Port Mor then got a second goal to take the lead before Oisin McGivern reacted quickest to the ball being struck off the post to rebound into an open goal. An Port Mor went one up once more before points from Lorcan McGivern, Harry Rafferty, Ryan Watters and Oisin McGivern left the score 2-6 to 2-4 at half time. An Port Mor came out after the break all guns blazing hitting 2-2 to go 6 ahead. 1-1 from Ryan Watters left just two the margin before goals from Brian Murdoch and Conor O'Hanlon gave the ‘Nab a 5 point cushion. It seemed Ballymacnab had done enough but 1-2 from An Port Mor in the closing stages left the side’s level 5-8 each at full time. Two 10 minute periods of extra was needed to decide the game and points from Ryan Watters and Dara McArdle put The Nab two in front before An Port Mor pulled one back. An Port Mor then went one up with two quick points before a pointed free from Ryan Watters levelled the game for the 7th time. In the closing stages the home side were then awarded a controversial goal to go put them a goal in front with not long left to play. The Nab needed a goal and got their chance when Oisin McGivern was pulled down by the ‘keeper. Ryan Watters stood up to take the kick and rattled the back of the night to level the game. This was the last action of the game which ended 6-11 to 6-11. The boys showed great heart to get a draw from this very entertaining encounter with Lorcan McGivern and the midfield pairing of Harry and Caoimhin Rafferty on top form. 


Team: Oisin O'Hare, Kyle Gallagher, Shane McClelland, Niall McKee,  Lorcan McGivern(0-1), Conor Dougan, Caoimhin Rafferty, Harry Rafferty(0-1), Dara McArdle(1-2), Oisin McGivern(1-1), Caolan O'Hare, Ryan Watters(2-5), Brian Murdoch (1-1). Subs: Conor O'Hanlon (1-0) for Caolan O'Hare, Tiarnan Smith for Brian Murdoch.