Match Reports‎ > ‎

Gallant performance sees Seniors exit Championship (27/09/15)

posted 29 Sept 2015, 05:53 by ballymacnab armagh


Ballymacnab 2-10 Harps 2-16

Our Seniors participation in this year's Senior Championship ended with defeat to Harps on Sunday evening at the Athletic Grounds. On the night the opposition shaded the game and were worthy winners but credit to our lads who pushed them all the way and produced their best.

A minutes silence was observed prior to the throw in, in memory of our former player Joe O'Hare who died recently. When the game got underway Brian McCone got the first score of the game with a pointed free and quickly followed with a point from play. Harps got their first score on the 3rd minute before a Ryan Kennedy point registered the ‘Nabs third. Harps hit four unanswered points before hitting the first goal of the game on the 16th minute. Harps increased the margin to 8 by the 25th minute as the 'Nab regrouped after the injury to Pauric Gribben who was replaced by Kieran Hughes. Our boys showed some form in the remainder of the half with points from Jack Grugan and Ryan Kennedy, either side of a Gavin McParland goal to leave the sides 1-05 to 1-08 at the interval. 

Harps hit some good form once again at the beginning of the second half with two points which was followed by a second goal on the 38th minute. Points from Ryan Kennedy (2) and Gavin McParland were exchanged with as many for the opposition to leave 8 between the sides once more by the 54th minute. However, the lads once again rallied and points from Oisin McGivern and Jack Grugan reduced the deficit before a second Gavin McParland on the 58th minute left just four between the sides. As the 'Nab tried to get a break of the ball to force further pressure, the Harps responded with two points to ensure the victory. 

A gallant performance by all, lead admiralty by Captain Michael Beagan and Dominic McParland in defence. Ryan Kennedy put in a tremendous effort throughout, covering many sectors and converting four points whilst Gavin McParland and Jack Grugan converted their opportunities when called upon.

Despite the defeat the squad can look back on 2015 as something to build on after reaching the Semi Final, achieving our highest league position and retaining the Senior Reserve Championship. 

Team: Conor McGivern, Chris Loughran, Dominic McParland, Sean Lynch, Michael Beagan (Capt), Damien McGeown, Fearghal Nugent, Brendan Toner, Rory Grugan, Pauric Gribben, Joe Gribben, Ryan Kennedy (0-4),  Jack Grugan (0-2), Brian McCone (0-2) Gavin McParland (2-1). Subs: Kieran Hughes for P.Gribben, Finnén Maguire for J.Gribben, Gary McKee for B.Toner, Oisin McGivern (0-1) for F.Nugent.