Match Reports‎ > ‎

Impressive start for Under 16s (12/04/12)

posted 13 Apr 2012, 07:06 by Unknown user


Cullaville 0-09 Ballymacnab 3-10


Our Under16s traveled to Cullaville on Thursday for the commencement of the League. Ballymacnab got off to a perfect start when Michael O’Hare palmed the ball into the Cullaville net in the opening minute. Cullaville answered with two points before Finnén Maguire hit two long-range points to put a goal between the sides. Ballymacnab then stretched the lead to two goals when a lovely 1-2 move between Shaun Casey and Stephen King finished up in the back of the net, the goal scored by Shaun Casey. Ryan McKenna then scored from a left footed effort before Stephen King scored from the dead ball. Cullaville then got their third and final point of the first half before Ballymacnab got a third goal of the game, this time from Michael O’Hare when a high ball was put into the square and he rattled the net for his second goal. Two more points were scored by Shaun Casey and Michael O’Hare leaving the half time score 3-6 to 3 points. Ryan McKenna opened the scoring for the second half with another brilliant left footed point before Finnén Maguire put Ballymacnab 14 points in front. However, Cullaville came back with 3 points before Ryan McKenna came through from midfield to split the posts once more. Cullaville again got three unanswered points to cut the lead to 9. Stephen King then scored a point to stretch the margin to 10 points. This left the scoreline 3-10 to 0-9 which the game would finish at. An encouraging win for our boys and a good performance all round. Brilliant displays from the full back line of Brendan Kennedy and Josh McGeown meant Oisin O’Hare kept a clean sheet in the goals, admirably assisted by Lee Hughes at wing half back. Ballymacnab will now face the challenge of Granemore in their next game and although they will have home advantage and another big performance will be needed from the boys.


Team: Oisin O’Hare, Brendan Kennedy, Josh McGeown, Lee Hughes, Michael Gribben, Stephen McGuigan, Finnén Maguire, Ryan McKenna, Oisin McGivern, Shane McClelland, Shaun Casey, Stephen King, Michael O’Hare. Subs: Brian Murdoch for M.O’Hare, Dara McKinney for S. McClelland, Ryan Cassidy for R. McKenna