Match Reports‎ > ‎

Late rally not enough as Ogs claim points (24/04/16)

posted 28 Apr 2016, 16:10 by ballymacnab armagh


Ballymacnab 1-12 Pearse Og 1-14


Matchball sponsor - Liam McCone

 A second home tie saw our seniors lose narrowly to Pearse Og on Sunday past in the league. With Ballymacnab still missing some regulars, this gave the opportunity for others to shine.

One of those was Kieran Hughes who got the first score of the game with a point on the 6th minute. The visitors hit two unanswered points before a Brian McCone free on the 20th minute levelled matters. Two further points for the Ogs followed before another Brian McCone pointed free on the 23rd minute. On the 25th minute Ballymacnab got the first goal of the game. After some initial good play from Ryan Kennedy and Brian McCone, James Gray cut through the defence and set Finnén Maguire up to score the goal. Pearse Og responded with a point before the break with Ballymacnab 1 point to spare.

Pearse Og came out for the second half in a more determine form and kicked 5 unanswered points. Ryan Kennedy increased his side tally with a point after an inspiring run through the defence but the visitors hit back with a goal on the 42nd minute. Pointed frees from Brian McCone were exchanged with his opposite number. The introduction of Jack Grugan on the 48th minute gave Ballymacnab a much needed lift as Jack grabbed the Nab back into the game with 5 inspirational points. However, the Ogs hung on to record the victory and the 2 points.

Dominic McParland, Michael Beagan and Ryan Kennedy had encouraging performances in defence as did Kieran Hughes, Brian McCone and Oisin McGivern in attack along with the commanding presence of substitute Jack Grugan. With long term injuries beginning to clear up performances are also improving.

Team: Sean Hughes, Chris Loughran, Dominic McParland, Sean Lynch, Michael Beagan, Ryan Kennedy  (0-1), Fearghal Nugent, Tony McKee, Damien McGeown, James Gray, Finnén Maguire (1-0), Kieran Hughes  (0-2), Brian McCone (Capt 0-4), Gary McKee, Oisin McGivern. Subs: Sean McArdle for T.McKee, Jack Grugan (0-5) for G.McKee, Ruairi Gribben for F.Maguire, Joe Gribben for O.McGivern.