Match Reports‎ > ‎

Reserves through to Championship decider (24/06/14)

posted 25 Jun 2014, 16:14 by ballymacnab armagh   [ updated 25 Jun 2014, 16:14 ]


Ballymacnab 1-15 Carrickcruppen 1-05

Our Reserves made a little bit of Club history on Tuesday evening, by reaching the Final of the Reserve Championship for the first time after a 1-15 to 1-05 win over Carrickcruppen in the Semi Final.

Both sides registered early scores with points from Kieran Hughes (2) and Fearghal Nugent being matched by that of the opposition. Carrickcruppen hit the lead on the 10th minute but a Niall Cosgrove point cancelled that score. Likewise, when Fearghal Nugent picked up a scrappy ball to level matters again after 'cruppen had taken the lead. A Cormac Gribben converted 45 meter kick was followed by another Fearghal Nugent point to give Ballymacnab a 7-5 lead at the half time break.

Brian McClelland hit two excellent points at the beginning of the second half but against the run of play, Carrickcruppen responded with a goal on the 37th minute. A Kieran Hughes point steadied the 'Nab with a point on the 45th minute and two minutes later a neat finish to the net by Fearghal Nugent increased the lead, after some good play from Richard Gribben and Niall Cosgrove. Points from Fearghal Nugent, Conor Murdoch and Brian McClelland kept Ballymacnab in front and with victory now in site Fearghal Nugent added another point along with one from substitute Gareth Watters to send Ballymacnab into the Final against Sarsfields on 23 July.

Colm McKee had a steady game in defence, while Richard Gribben put in an excellent performance over the hour. Ballymacnab were sharp in attack with some good scores from Fearghal Nugent and Kieran Hughes and all round play from Brian McClelland and Conor Murdoch.

Team: Conor McGivern, Colm McKee, Chris Kennedy, Patrick Watters, Barry Livingstone, Cormac Gribben (0-1), Ciaran Connolly, Brendan Gribben, Richard Gribben, Niall Cosgrove (0-1), Brian McClelland (0-3), Fearghal Nugent (1-4), Conor Murdoch (0-1), Kieran Hughes (0-3), Rory Gray. Subs: Gareth Watters (0-1) for R.Gray, Oisin Fearon for K.Hughes, Paudi Beagan for B.Livingstone, Ryan Beagan for N.Cosgrove, John McManus for C.McKee