Match Reports‎ > ‎

Reserves win County Championship (02/08/17)

posted 16 Aug 2017, 05:38 by ballymacnab armagh   [ updated 16 Aug 2017, 05:48 ]




Our Reserve team made the short trip to the Athletic Grounds on Wednesday the 2nd of August to contest their 3rd Championship final in 4 years, led by joint captains Cormac and Neil Gribben, they were determined to bring home the trophy against a tough Madden side. A great start along with a lot of hard work throughout the match, ensured victory for the ‘Nab. Ballymacnab opened a 4 point lead with points from Gareth Watters (2) and Paul Kennedy (2) before Madden got off the mark in the 6th minute. A Stephen King point followed before Madden responded to leave the score 0-5 to 0-2 with 12 minutes played in the opening half. Points from Niall Gribben, Aodhan Toner and another from Gareth Watters stretched their advantage to 6 before Watters once again swapped points with the Madden attack. The ‘Nab squeezed in two more points prior to the end of the half with Paul Kennedy kicking his third and Niall Gribben splitting the posts yet again. This left the score 0-11 to 0-3 with it all to play for in the second half.

It took 14 minutes for the opening score of the half, with both nerves and weather conditions playing there part. Brendan Toner registered his first before Niall Gribben scored his third of the evening. Madden responded with a single point before two Brendan Toner points left his side in front by 9 with 5 minutes remaining. The Madden team then headed for goals to try and save the match, but found the Nab’s defence too hard to break down, scoring only one goal from numerous chances they created. Ballymacnab’s hunger and commitment shown, meant they came away with the victory on a score line of 0-15 to 1-4.

After the game, County Secretary Paul Duggan presented the Cup to joint Captains Cormac & Neil Gribben. Well done to all the players, managers Mickey McGivern, Gary McKee and backroom team. Special word of thanks to McKee Masonry for sponsoring the team T-shirts and to the Staff of O’Tooles Bar who provided the after match refreshments.

The Reserves now aim to achieve ‘the double’ as they once again head to the Athletic Grounds for the league final on Friday the 18th of August.

Team: Mickey O’Hare, Shaun Casey, Colm McKee, Sean Lynch, Ciaran Connolly, Cormac Gribben, Ryan Harvey, Niall Gribben (0-3), Cormac McKee, Gareth Watters (0-4), Nicolas Harvey, Paul Kennedy (0-3), Stephen King (0-1), Aodhan Toner (0-1), Neil Gribben. Subs: Joe Gribben for Neil Gribben, Brendan Tonner (0-3) for A. Toner, Kevin Beagan for S. King, Tomas Gribben for G. Watters, Barry Livingstone for C. Connelly, Ryan Beagan for Niall Gribben. Tomas Gribben, Shane McClelland, Packie Watters, Rory Gray, Simon Hawkins, Fintan Connolly