Match Reports‎ > ‎

Senior League v Dromintee 17/07/20

posted 21 Jul 2020, 15:01 by ballymacnab armagh   [ updated 4 Aug 2020, 15:16 ]

Ballymacnab 0-9 Dromintee 2-6

The Round Towers suffered a real sucker punch at the very death when Conor Martin cracked home a goal to capture two points for the away side.

The Nab battled back from three points down to level the tie and looked to have wrestled a share of the spoils from Dromintee, but the substitute Martin had other ideas.

Rory Grugan opened the scoring within the first five minutes before Gavin McParland burst through the visitors defence to secure a two-point lead for his side.

Ryan Gaskin got the away side off the mark while Shane McCoy deserted his goalkeeping duties to smash over a 45 and level the game.

The weather denied any chance of free-flowing football and the low scoring first half saw the sides remain level at the interval.

Paul Meegan and Oisin McGivern (free) saw their points matched by the opposition to leave the score 0-4 to 0-4 after 30 minutes.

Ballymacnab playmaker Grugan once again opened the scoring in the second period before Dromintee replied through Niall Courtney.

The visitors made the first burst for the finish line as Aidan Morgan raised the first green flag of the evening and left three points between the sides, the biggest margin in the game.

Jack Grugan traded scores Cathal McKenna as the Grugan brothers, assisted by substitute Michael Beagan, began to reel Dromintee back in.

Rory Grugan struck two frees while full-forward Jack also pointed from a mark to level the game with time almost up.

Dromintee would have one last say though. A turnover in the centre of the field saw possession make its way to Conor Martin who buried the ball into the bottom corner with the last action of the game.

While neither side were at full strength, goals were always going to be massive scores and the timing of Dromintee’s last three-pointer was the ultimate decider.

Team: Brendan Toner, Rúairí Gribben, Ryan Kennedy, James Gray, Ryan Watters, Ciaran Connolly (Capt), Óisín McGivern (0-1), Paul Meegan (0-1), Pauric Gribben, Niall McKee, Rory Grugan (0-4), Chris Loughran, Gavin McParland (0-1), Jack Grugan (0-2), Aodhan Toner. Subs: Fearghal Nugent for G.McParland, Michael Beagan for C.Loughran, Joe Gribben for N.McKee, Gareth Watters for A.Toner, Simon Hawkins for B.Toner