Match Reports‎ > ‎

Senior League v Pearse Og 31/07/20

posted 4 Aug 2020, 15:49 by ballymacnab armagh

Pearse Og 0-8 Ballymacnab 0-10

The Ogs will look back on this game as one that got away. For long spells, Shane McConville’s men were in control of the contest, but just couldn’t make it count.

Having recorded five unanswered points to lead 6-4 at the break, two points was all they could rustle up in the second 30 minutes of action.

Some wayward shooting from the home side kept Ballymacnab in the game before Bernie Murray’s men pushed on in the second period to pick up maximum points.

Four half time substitutes turned the tide for Round Towers, and they were ahead within eight minutes of the restart.

Aodhan Toner clipped over three points on the night, two of which came early in the game and were beautifully executed from awkward angles.

Paul Duffy proved a real handful at full forward and was the vocal point of the Ogs attacking threat, grabbing their opening score and always being an option.

Pauric Gribben and Vincy Brady (45) traded points before the Ogs began to dominate the contest by controlling possession.

Shea Freeman, Paul Duffy (free), Anto Duffy and Conor Clarke (free) all raised white flags to take a two-point lead into the break.

The introduction of Michael Beagan, Ryan Kennedy and Brian McCone seemed to settle the men in maroon as they began to get to grips with the game.

Aodhan Toner and Grugan (two) helped their side take the lead before the Nab added another score to go ahead 0-8 to 0-6.

Marc Cullen chipped over a point from the dead ball before Michael Beagan struck a glorious effort to keep his side ahead.

The teams exchanged scores once again before Rory Grugan hit a crucial 65th minute point to bring his tally to 0-4 and most importantly, to secure a 0-10 to 0-8 win.

Team: Simon Hawkins, Colm McKee, Rúairí Gribben, James Gray, Ryan Watters, Ciaran Connolly (Capt), Chris Loughran, Rory Grugan (0-4), Paul Meegan, Pauric Gribben (0-1), Óisín McGivern, Aodhan Toner (0-3), Gavin McParland (0-1), Gareth Watters, Fearghal Nugent. Subs: Ryan Kennedy for C.McKee, Mickey O'Hare for S.Hawkins, Michael Beagan for P.Meegan, Brian McCone for O.McGivern, Jack Grugan for G.Watters, Óisín McGivern for R.Watters (Blood)