Match Reports‎ > ‎

Seniors defeated by Cullaville (11/04/12)

posted 13 Apr 2012, 02:59 by Unknown user




A below par performance on Wednesday night away to Cullaville saw our seniors suffer a six point defeat. Despite earning a fair percentage of the possession it was the home side who finished the strongest and claimed the two points.

A lively start saw both sides exchange early scores with Gavin McParland and Joe Gribben registering points. On the 15th minute Gavin McParlands one-on-one shot was saved by the 'keeper but Pauric Gribben chased up the rebound and palmed the ball to the net. Cullaville hit back with two unanswered points before a Paul Kennedy point on the 21th minute kept the 'Nab in control on the scoreboard. Cullaville reduced the deficit with another point as the 'Nab were unlucky not to convert another goal when Gavin McParlands shot from an acute angle hit the side netting. On the brink of half time Barry O'Hare intercepted another attack and after inter linking with James Gray and Joe Gribben, Gavin McParland fired over another point to leave three between the sides at the interval.

Cullaville reduced the deficit with four converted points from frees, in between converted frees from Brian McCone and Gavin McParland. An excellent interception from Paudi Crilly set the Round Towers up on another attack and after a foul on Dominic McParland, Brian McCone put three between the sides on the 45th minute. The last quarter saw the best patch of the game for the home side were they seemed to get a grasp of the game, particularly in the midfield berth, where Pauric and Richard Gribben had done quite well. A goal for Cullaville on the 58th minute was followed by a flurry of points to earn them the league points.

An injury to Ryan Kennedy towards the end of the game added to the disappointment and we wish him a speedy recovery. On a positive note Brian McCone made an impressive and welcome return after his long injury lay off.

Team: Sean Hughes, Chris Loughran, Sean McArdle, Sean Lynch, Barry O'Hare, Paudi Crilly, Dominic McParland, Pauric Gribben (1-0), Richard Gribben, James Gray, Paul Kennedy (0-1), Joe Gribben (0-1), Gavin McParland (0-3), Ryan Kennedy, Brian McCone (0-3). Sub: Brendan Toner for R.Kennedy