Match Reports‎ > ‎

Seniors defeat Tir Na nOg (19/04/14)

posted 22 Apr 2014, 09:56 by ballymacnab armagh




Our Seniors made it 2 wins out of 2 on Saturday evening with a 1-19 to 0-12 win away to Tir Na nOg.

The home side made the most impressive start, hitting three unanswered before a left footed effort from Gavin McParland opened the 'Nab account with a point on the 8th minute. Consecutive points from Gavin McParland (2) and Rory Grugan gave Ballymacnab the lead by the 12th minute, a lead that they held on to until the final whistle. Tir Na nOg levelled matters on the 15th minute but points through Kieran Hughes, Jack Grugan and Brian McCone gave their side the upper hand once more on the scoreboard. Tir Na nOg converted another free but a sweeping move up the field finished with a point from Chris Loughran. Further points from Brian McCone, Pauric Gribben and Jack Grugan gave Ballymacnab a 11-6 lead at the interval.

Like the first half, Tir Na nOg began the second in a confident mood and kicked three unanswered points and only two top class saves from Sean Hughes denied the home side with three pointer opportunities. Two pointed frees from Brian McCone in between another Kieran Hughes restored a 5 point lead. Tir Na nOg hit back with two converted frees but another Jack Grugan point on the 46th minute kept the 'Nab in front. Then a minute later came the only goal of the game when Gavin McParland fired a low shot pass the 'keeper. With Ballymacnab now in total control points from Damian McGeown (2), Gavin McParland and Pauric Gribben saw of the challenge of the home side as the Round Towers collected the league points.

This was a good team performance with everyone playing their part. Sean Hughes showed his worth with some fine saves while Chris Loughran and Kevin Beagan put in steady performances in defence. In attack all played well collectively as a unit with all 6 forwards getting their name on the score sheet.

Team: Sean Hughes, Chris Loughran (0-1), Ruairi Gribben, James Gray, Brendan Gribben, Kevin Beagan, Dominic McParland, Pauric Gribben (0-2), Paudi Crilly, Gavin McParland (1-4), Brian McCone (0-4), Damian McGeown (0-2), Rory Grugan (0-1), Jack Grugan (0-3), Kieran Hughes (0-2). Subs: Ciaran Connolly for B.Gribben, Aodhan Toner for K.Hughes.