Match Reports‎ > ‎

Seniors defeat Whitecross (01/05/14)

posted 4 May 2014, 15:16 by ballymacnab armagh



Matchball sponsor – John Grugan

Ballymacnab continued their good start to the Senior League with a dogged victory over a spirited Whitecross side at Pairc na Gael on Thursday night.

Whitecross enjoyed the early exchanges but points from Dominic McParland and Jack Grugan put the 'Nab into the lead. Three consecutive points from the opposition gave them an early lead, however, the sides were level once more by the quarter hour mark with a point from captain Brian McCone after being set up by Jack Grugan. The sides locked horns on the scoreboard on two further occasions with Gavin McParland, Fearghal Nugent and Jack Grugan getting on the score sheet but Whitecross went in 7-6 ahead at the interval.

Ballymacnab got the perfect start at the beginning of the second half with a neat finished goal from Kieran Hughes, restoring the lead for the Round Towers. Things were level once more by the 38th minute after two points for Whitecross. Jack Grugan pointed on the 41st minute and four minutes later Gavin McParland found the net after some good play from Brian McCone. Going into the final quarter, three more consecutive points for the Whitecross attack reduced the margin. Substitute Aodhan Toner capitalised on a loose ball and fired over a point on the 57th minute to give the 'Nab some breathing space. With 60 minutes played, a converted free by the visitors left one between the sides again but in added time Dominic McParland converted one of the best scores of the night with a left footed effort and ensured the victory.

Ballymacnab really had to work to get the result but deserved to shade it. Jack Grugan played an important role, particular in the second half while in defence the half back line of Brendan Gribben, Kevin Beagan and Dominic McParland impressed. 

Team: Sean Hughes, Chris Loughran, Ruairí Gribben, James Gray, Brendan Gribben, Kevin Beagan, Dominic McParland (0-2), Damian McGeown, Brian McCone (Capt 0-1), Gavin McParland (1-1), Fearghal Nugent (0-1), Jack Grugan (0-3), Kieran Hughes (1-0). Subs: Paul Kennedy for F.Nugent, Aodhan Toner (0-1) for K.Hughes.