Match Reports‎ > ‎

Seniors dispose of Clans in Quarter Final

posted 6 Sept 2011, 10:24 by Unknown user

Our seniors progressed to the Semi-Final of this years Senior Championship with a convincing victory over former kingpins Clan na Gael. Once again these group of lads created a piece of history for the club  by qualifying for the Semi-Final for the first time and after the game the draw saw us paired with fellow parishioners Granemore.

The game was played in the worst conditions possible with constant rain throughout, aided by a stiff breeze. As a result scores were hard to come by early on with the first score not until 7th minute, a point for Clan na Gael. Ballymacnab registered their first score three minutes later when Brian McCone's inch perfect pass to Gavin McParland saw him shimmy the keeper and fine the back of the net. On the 15th minute a move put together by Joe Gribben, Dominic McParland and Rory Grugan was finished with a point from Pauric Gribben. Gavin McParland followed up with a pointed free before a second Clans point on the 22nd minute. Five minutes later Joe Gribben set up the on rushing Pauric Gribben for his second point to leave the Nab leading 1-3 to 0-2 at the interval.

The Nab increased their lead straight from the throw in with a Gavin McParland point and on the 32nd  after some good play from Pauric Gribben and Rory Grugan set up Gavin McParland for his second goal. The Nab were now beginning to get into a determined swing and points from Rory Grugan and two from Brian McCone in between one from Clan na Gael. With the Round Towers defence sniffing out any Clans attack, a goal on the 47th minute by Brian McCone effectively saw of the challenge. Gavin McParland grabbed his third goal on the 60th minute mark as the Round Towers look forward to the next round.

To their credit the Ballymacnab put in an excellent performance particularly in the second half in poor conditions, guided by the displays from the half back line of Barry O'Hare, Michael and Kevin Beagan. Pauric Gribben continued his good form while Brian McCone and Gavin McParland showed their quality once more.

Team: Sean Hughes (Capt), Chris Loughran, Dwayne McParland, Dominic McParland, Barry O'Hare, Michael Beagan, Kevin Beagan, Pauric Gribben (0-3), Richard Gribben, James Gray, Rory Grugan (0-3), Joe Gribben, Brian McCone (1-4), Gavin McParland (3-2), Ryan Kennedy. Subs: Brian McClelland for J.Gribben, Tony Gribben for J.Gray, Chris Kennedy for M.Beagan, Jack Grugan for B.McCone.