Match Reports‎ > ‎

Seniors get back to winning ways (03/07/14)

posted 5 Jul 2014, 09:44 by ballymacnab armagh   [ updated 5 Jul 2014, 09:44 ]



Matchball sponsor – Liam McCone

 Our Seniors got back to winning ways with a well deserving 5 point win over Carrickcruppen at home on Thursday evening.

Ballymacnab made an excellent start to the game with Ryan Kennedy opening the account from the first attack after collecting a pass from Tony McKee. Three minutes into the game, Gavin McParland had the ball in the net after Michael Beagan set him up for the score. A Brian McCone converted free quickly followed and on the 8th minute came a second goal. This time coming from the boot Ryan Kennedy after Brian McCone's inch perfect pass set Ryan up with the one-on-one chance with the 'keeper. Carrickcruppen got off the mark with a point from a free on the 10th minute. Ballymacnab responded on the scoreboard with Brian McCone and Damien McGeown adding points before two for the visitors. Three points in quick succession from Gavin McParland, Kevin Beagan and Dominic McParland increased the lead against a point for 'cruppen but points from goal scorers Gavin McParland and Ryan Kennedy just before the break gave Ballymacnab a 2-09 to 0-04 lead at the interval. 

Ballymacnab were quick out of the blocks in the second half with Gavin McParland and Damien McGeown hitting points apiece. Then Carrickcruppen hit their purple patch hitting three consecutive points before following up with a goal after 38 minutes. Brian McCone and Michael Beagan added points against two for the opposition who reduced the deficit further with a second goal on the 46th minute and a point followed a minute later.  Gavin McParland responded with a converted free and an excellent individual point from substitute Fearghal Nugent secured the two league points.

Team: Sean Hughes, Chris Loughran, Paudi Crilly, Brendan Gribben, Ruairi Gribben, Kevin Beagan (0-1), Dominic McParland (0-1), Tony McKee, Richard Gribben, Michael Beagan (0-1), Brian McCone (Capt 0-3), Brendan Toner, Damien McGeown (0-2), Ryan Kennedy (1-2), Gavin McParland (1-4). Subs: Joe Gribben for Ri.Gribben, Fearghal Nugent (0-1) for B.Toner, Kieran Hughes for K.Beagan