Match Reports‎ > ‎

Seniors lose to Shanes (28/07/13)

posted 28 Jul 2013, 15:59 by Unknown user



Our seniors came out second best in a high scoring game away to Shane O’Neill’s on Sunday. Played in blistering heat, the home side took first advantage with the first score of the game from a free on the 5th minute. Rory Grugan opened the ‘Nabs account three minutes later finishing off a point after some good play by Tony McKee. This kick started the ‘Nab into action with Jack Grugan and Brendan Toner adding points before another free for the Shanes left a point between the sides after 11 minutes. The first goal of the game came on the 13th minute when half back James Gray cut through the opposition rear guard and coolly slotted the ball to the net. Shane O’Neill’s began to dominate the next quarter hitting 1-6 in between another Jack Grugan point before a Joe Gribben point on the 27th minute reduced the deficit to three. However, Ballymacnab finished the half in a flourish hitting two goals in close succession, both of which were set up by Rory Grugan. The first on the 29th minute when Rory set up the on rushing James Gray to palm to the net for his second goal and a minute later a quick free from Rory to his brother |Jack saw him rattle the net to give a three point advantage at the interval.

The second half proved to be a nip and tuck affair with some decisions not going Ballymacnabs way. The sides were level by the 49th minute after Brian McCone (2) had exchanged scores with the opposition. Substitute Pauric Gribben and Rory Grugan edged the ‘Nab in front once more to give them a two point advantage but the sides were level by the 59th minute and only an excellent block from Chris Loughran denied a certain goal. With time almost up, the home side were awarded a penalty but Sean Hughes made an excellent save to deny a three pointer. In time added on when both sides would have settled for a draw it was the visitors who had the final attack and after a foul converted the free to give a narrow margin victory.

Team: Sean Hughes, Chris Loughran, Sean Lynch, Kevin Beagan, Dominic McParland, Michael Beagan, James Gray (2-0), Tony McKee, Richard Gribben, Brendan Gribben, Rory Grugan (0-2), Damian McGeown, Brian McCone (0-2), Jack Grugan (1-2), Brendan Toner (0-1). Subs: Joe Gribben (0-1) for K.Beagan, Gary McKee for R.Gribben, Pauric Gribben (0-1) for T.McKee, John McManus for D.McParland, Kieran Hughes for B.Toner.