Match Reports‎ > ‎

Seniors march on to Round 2 (11/08/17)

posted 16 Aug 2017, 05:41 by ballymacnab armagh




Our Seniors progressed to Round 2 of the Championship after accounting of Cullaville in Silverbridge in Round 1. Although the ’Nab ran out comfortable winners in the end, they were made to work hard throughout, particularly in the first half.


Ballymacnab got off the mark straight from the throw in which ended in a point for Jack Grugan. Cullaville responded with an equalising score on the 2nd minute. The first goal of the game came 10 minutes into the half when Conor McGiverns attempt to save a point rebounded off the crossbar to a Cullaville forward, who reacted the quickest, and converted the three pointer. This lead was short lived as the ‘Nab went into the attack straight from the kick out. Finnén Maguire’s excellent cross field pass ended with Jack Grugan fisting the ball over the advancing ‘keeper to raise the green flag. Finnén Maguire added a point before the sides were once more level again on the 17th mark. Ballymacnab then hit a purple patch in the game with 4 unanswered points from Cormac Gribben, Oisín McGivern, Pauric Gribben and Brian McCone. Cullaville responded with a brace of points before points from Paul Kennedy and Finnén Maguire left 4 between the sides by the 29th minute mark. There would remain 4 between the sides at the half time break but a dramatic end of the half saw Cullaville awarded a penalty and although the resulting kick was well struck it was equally matched with a fine save from ‘keeper Conor McGivern.


As in the first half, Jack Grugan got the first point of the second as the ‘Nab exchanged points with the opposition. Paul Kennedy, Finnén Maguire, Jack Grugan and Ryan Kennedy added points to give a bit of breathing space to lead by 6 by the 42nd minute. Three minutes later came the second ‘Nab goal when Finnén Maguire proved the provider once more only this time it was Pauric Gribben who flicked the ball to the net. Ryan Kennedy and Brian McCone added points against two for the opposition and by the final whistle Ballymacnab were glad to get over the first hurdle and advance to Round 2.


Overall a much pleasing win with everyone playing their part with special mention to Conor and Oisin McGivern, Ryan Kennedy, Finnén Maguire and Jack Grugan.


Team: Conor McGivern, Ciaran Connolly, Brendan Toner, Chris Loughran, Michael Beagan, Ryan Kennedy (0-2), Oisin McGivern (0-1), Pauric Gribben (1-1), Richard Gribben, Ruairí Gribben, Finnén Maguire (0-3), Paul Kennedy (0-2), Brendan Gribben, Jack Grugan (1-4), Brian McCone (Capt 0-2). Subs: Cormac Gribben (0-1) for Ri.Gribben, James Gray for M.Beagan, Sean Lynch for C.Connolly, Damien McGeown for B.Gribben, Niall McKee for C.Loughran, Fearghal Nugent for J.Grugan