Match Reports‎ > ‎

Seniors progress to Round 2 (09/05/15)

posted 13 May 2015, 16:18 by ballymacnab armagh



Ballymacnab progressed to Round 2 of the Championship after a fine 5 point victory over Dromintee on Saturday evening. For the majority of the game Ballymacnab were in control but were pushed all the way by the opposition, only pulling away in the final 10 minutes. 

Brendan Toner got scoring proceedings under way on the 6th minute with a converted 45 meter kick after his initial shot had been saved by the 'keeper. Three minutes later Gavin McParland found the net after an excellent move involving Ruairí Gribben, Rory Grugan and Brian McCone. Gavin followed up with a point a minute later. Dromintee got off the mark with a point on the 11th minute but well taken points from Jack Grugan and Gavin McParland kept Ballymacnab ahead. However on the 16th minute against the run of play Dromintee converted their own three pointer and followed up with a point a minute later. Brian McCone added another point before two for the opposition. Jack Grugan once again showed great accuracy with two long range points and a close in free before a brace of points by the opposition left Ballymacnab leading 1-8 to 1-6 at the interval.

Ballymacnab got off to a good start in the second half through points from Rory Grugan and Brian McCone. Jack Grugan and Brian McCone added further points but once again Dromintee came back at them with points of their own. However Ballymacnab finished in high form and through points from Jack Grugan, Brian McCone, Gavin McParland and Oisin McGivern secured the victory and sent them into Round 2.

In an entertaining game Ballymacnab will be happy to progress with the performance of defenders Dominic McParland and Sean Lynch most pleasing along with the high work rate of Rory Grugan, Damien McGeown and Gary McKee. Jack Grugan kicked some delightful scores closely aided by Brian McCone and Gavin McParland. 

Team: Conor McGivern, Chris Loughran, Dominic McParland, Sean Lynch, James Gray, Ruairí Gribben, Fearghal Nugent, Damien McGeown, Rory Grugan (0-1) , Brendan Toner (0-1), Brian McCone (0-4), Gary McKee, Jack Grugan (0-6), Joe Gribben, Gavin McParland (1-3). Subs : Brendan Gribben for J.Gray, Pauric Gribben for G.McKee, Oisin McGivern  (0-1) for B.McCone.