Match Reports‎ > ‎

Seniors secure home win (18/04/15)

posted 21 Apr 2015, 16:02 by ballymacnab armagh



Matchball sponsor - Brendan Maguire 

Ballymacnab's first home game of the new season saw them put in an excellent second half performance to record a 3-13 to 1-08 win over Sarsfields. 

In perfect playing conditions Ballymacnab dominated the early exchanges and raced into a 5 nil lead courtesy of points from James Gray, Gavin McParland, Brian McCone, Brendan Toner and Jack Grugan. A brace of points from the visitors got them off the mark by the 20th minute and only a double save from Conor McGivern denied a three pointer. A pointed free for Sarsfields was followed by the first goal of the game when Sarsfields broke through the 'Nab rearguard to give them the lead on the 26th minute. Approaching half time Gavin McParland collected a long range pass from Chris Loughran before being hauled down. Brian McCone equalised with a point from the resulting free to at the half time break. 

Sarsfields hit the front with a point, straight from the throw in but points from Brian McCone and Kieran Hughes restored the lead once more. Ballymacnab edged further ahead with a Brian McCone goal on the 37th minute. Points from Jack Grugan and James Gray were  exchanged with that of the opposition before James Gray flicked home a goal on the 53rd minute. With the game well wrapped up, Jack Grugan finished with two well taken points before his pinpoint pass to Brian McCone saw Brian fire home a third goal.

An overall good team display with Chris Loughran and Dominic McParland shining in defence along with Conor McGivern between the posts. Rory Grugan covered every blade on grass along with Damien McGeown at midfield. Brian McCone put in a vintage performance and along with Jack Grugan were chief marksmen. 

Team: Conor McGivern, Chris Loughran, Dominic McParland, Sean Lynch, Michael Beagan (Capt), Ruairi Gribben, Fearghal Nugent, Damien McGeown, Rory Grugan, Brendan Toner (0-1), Brian McCone (2 -4), James Gray (1-2), Jack Grugan  (0-4), Joe Gribben, Gavin McParland  (0-1). Subs: Kieran Hughes (0-1) for G.McParland, Gary McKee for J.Gray, Gareth Watters for D.McGeown.