Match Reports‎ > ‎

Seniors squeeze past Madden (30/05/14)

posted 1 Jun 2014, 14:57 by ballymacnab armagh



Our Seniors travelled the short distance on Friday evening to Madden for a league tie. In a high scoring close encounter, little could separate the sides throughout but a late burst saw Ballymacnab claim the two points.

Madden opened the scoring with a point from their first attack but two well taken points from James Gray gave his side an early lead. Madden hit back with five points in between a Damien McGeown score on the 11th minute. Michael Beagan, who was making his first start of the year, reduced the deficit with a point on the 17th minute. With Madden continuing to dominate on the scoreboard Ballymacnab did finish the half strongest with scores from Brian McCone, Damien McGeown, Kieran Hughes and Ruairí Gribben to leave the home side ahead 10-8 at the break.

Madden started the second half with two points but these were quickly cancelled out by pointed frees from Gavin McParland. Once again the teams went toe-to-toe with each another with Madden responding but scores by Dominic and Gavin McParland saw the deficit reduced to one by the 41st minute. Points were exchanged through two each from Damien McGeown and Gavin McParland to give Ballymacnab the lead on the 54th  minute. However, the game once again swung back to Maddens advantage with two unanswered point. However an equalizing point from Gavin McParland was followed by the winning point from the boot of Joe Gribben and saw the league points secured.

Although Madden dominated long periods Ballymacnab showed great character throughout, particularly in the final 10 minutes, playing to the final whistle. Kevin Beagan once again put in a solid performance in defence aided by Brendan Gribben and James Gray. Richard Gribben battled hard over the hour at midfield while Damien McGeown and Kieran Hughes looked much dangerous in attack.

Team: Sean Hughes, Chris Loughran, Ruairí Gribben (0-1), Brendan Gribben, Dominic McParland (0-1), Kevin Beagan, James Gray (0-2), Richard Gribben, Pauric Gribben, Gavin McParland (0-6), Joe Gribben (0-1), Michael Beagan (0-1), Brian McCone (Capt 0-1), Damien McGeown (0-4), Kieran Hughes (0-1). Subs: Fearghal Nugent for M.Beagan, Finnén Maguire for J.Gray, Tony McKee for K.Hughes.