Match Reports‎ > ‎

Under 21's progress to next round (05/11/11)

posted 7 Nov 2011, 04:51 by Unknown user




Our Under 21's progressed to the Quarter Final of this years Championship with a narrow but well deserving victory over neighbours Granemore.


The Nab fielded a relatively experienced side and were first on the score board with a point from Brendan Toner after five minute. From the resulting kick out the Nab went on the rampage and finished off a move with a goal from chief marksman Gavin McParland. Despite their dominance in the early periods the Nab were not converting their chances into scores but points in quick succession from Gavin McParland and Ryan Kennedy increased the lead before the home side registered their first score on the 22nd minute after keeper Martin O'Hare pulled off a good save. Brendan Toner converted a free three minutes later to leave the Round Towers leading 1-4 to a point at the break.


Granemore began the second half with two quick points by the 33rd minute as they now enjoyed more possession. However, the Nab defended admirably keeping their scores to a minimum but by the 47th minute the Nab lead by just two. A converted free from Brendan Toner on the 51st minute left three between the sides but from the resulting kick out, Granemore went on the attack and despite once again Martin O’Hare pulling off an excellent save Granemore levelled the game with a goal. Both sides pushed hard to get over the finishing line and as added time now approaching Gavin McParland once again proved to be the hero as he curled over the winning point.


Martin O’Hare had a steady game in goals, making a number of saves while defensively Dominic McParland and Damian Gray showed good fleur. Cormac Gribben put in a commanding display at centre field while Brendan Toner and Gavin McParland took their scores well when called upon.


Team: Martin O'Hare, Darran Lynch, Ruairi Gribben, Dominic McParland, Damian Gray, Paudi Crilly, Gareth Watters, Ryan Kennedy (0-1), Cormac Gribben, Neil Gribben, Brian McClelland, Brendan Toner (0-3), Jack Grugan, Gavin McParland (1-2), Tony McKee. Sub: Niall Cosgrove for N.Gribben