Match Reports‎ > ‎

Victory over Maghery secures Division I status (21/08/11)titled Post

posted 21 Aug 2011, 18:52 by Unknown user



Ballymacnab guaranteed their Division I status with an eight point victory over Maghery on Sunday.

The Round Towers welcomed the return from injury of their chief marksman Brian McCone and it was him who registered the Nab's first score with a pointed free on the 4th minute following a foul on Gavin McParland. Maghery levelled matters a minute later and pushed on to take an early lead but were meet by some disciplined tackling from Kevin and Michael Beagan who set up another attack and with Rory Grugan's accurate pass to Gavin McParland he in turn dummied the keeper to stroke the ball to the net. Maghery hit back with a point on the 10th  minute. At this stage the Round Towers had to reshuffle their defence when full back Sean McArdle had to retire injured and replaced by Chris Kennedy. Two pointed frees from Brian McCone edged the Nab further in front quickly followed with two points each from Ryan Kennedy and Rory Grugan to leave the Nab leading 1-7 to 0-2 at the break.

At the restart one would have expected Maghery to come out throwing caution to the wind but it was Ballymacnab who kept up the momentum with points from Rory Grugan and Pauric Gribben. Maghery registered their first score of the half on the 39th minute before Brian McCone converted a 50 meter free on the 42nd minute. Maghery were beginning now to dominate around the middle and this was rewarded on the scoreboard with three unanswered points. However points from Rory Grugan, Brian McCone and Gavin McParland contributed to their sides finally tally.

This was one of the Nabs better performances of the season and the win means they shall be playing in the top flight next year, just reward for the effort completed thus far. On the day when performances were of a high order by all, Kevin and Michael Beagan excelled in defence. Dwayne McParland put in a tremendous effort in midfield. While in attack Rory Grugan and Ryan Kennedy contributed much as did Brian McCone through his place kicking and general all round play.

Team: Sean Hughes (Capt), Chris Loughran, Sean McArdle, Dominic McParland, Barry O'Hare, Michael Beagan, Kevin Beagan, Dwayne McParland, Pauric Gribben (0-1), James Gray, Rory Grugan (0-4), Joe Gribben, Brian McCone (0-5), Gavin McParland (1-1), Ryan Kennedy (0-2). Subs: Chris Kennedy for S.McArdle, Brian McClelland for Dwayne McParland, Tomas Gribben for C.Kennedy.